Skip to main content

Corona/Covid-19 (english): General resources

Free resources during Corona/Covid-19

​Many publishers and platforms are giving access to all or part of their collections in support during the Corona crisis.

Below is a list of these resources. The list will be updated continuously which means resources will be added and withdrawn.

The resources are NOT searchable in LibSearch and we can't ensure that access will work all the time. Still we hope this can be of help.

General resources

Annual Reviews

We at Annual Reviews have been thinking about how to help the many students, faculty and researchers that are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic. To assist them, on Monday, March 13th we will temporarily remove access control to our content until April 30th.
https://www.annualreviews.org/


Bentham Science

Webinars on academic training
With the closure of schools and the cancellation of large social gatherings due to COVID-19, we will be sharing our tips and tricks to limit the disruption of education. Presented by Dr. Gareth Dyke who has been working and teaching from home for the last 5 years, we will discuss some of the best ways to develop clear, simple and easily defined teaching methods. We will also talk about how to ‘time manage’ to become more effective working remotely. Essential distance learning skills for all working academics, irrespective of career stage. Learn to develop clear strategies and questions that will lead to highly engaging teaching during this time and show you how to get your work done while managing competing demands on your time. 


Cambridge

You need to log in with your credentials from Malmö University.

Cambridge Textbooks

Cambridge Companions

Cambridge Histories

Cambridge Elements
 


Ebsco

Webinars on Remote Learning 
Ebsco will put together a series of webinars that will provide tips and serve as a forum for discussion as we navigate these new times together. Join us around the clock, two days a week, three times a day, for a new topic starting March 24.

 

EDP Sciences

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, as a publisher which has always put the academic community at the forefront of everything we do, we have decided to open our journals content from 2018-2020 so it is freely available for all to read*.
Content will initially be made available from 30 March until the end of June 2020. We will continually monitor the situation and question any activity which may indicate abuse of the initiative. Copyright on individual articles will remain unchanged.

*A few exceptions remain:

Journals we publish on behalf of partners from whom we have not yet received permission; these will be added as and when we receive authorisation
Journals we do not own for which we simply host content


​Gale Cengage: COVID-19 Customer Support Web Page

We have created an online toolkit where librarians and educators can find and optimize their existing resources, access additional resources supporting health research and content for teaching, professional development resources to help transition to virtual learning, and more. You can preview the site now but additional resources will be added before deployment Monday and throughout next week.


GeoScienceWorld

To help support online learning and remote research for the remainder of the semester, the following GeoScienceWorld book publishers have extended public access to all of their ebooks through June 30, 2020:

American Association of Petroleum Geologists Canadian Science Publishing Clay Minerals Society Geological Society of America Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland PSAAPG SEPM Society for Sedimentary Geology Society of Economic Geologists University of Wyoming

The ebooks can be accessed here: https://pubs.geoscienceworld.org/books.


Internet Archive

The Internet Archive will suspend waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in our lending library by creating a National Emergency Library to serve the nation’s displaced learners. This suspension will run through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later. https://archive.org/details/nationalemergencylibrary


Johns Hopkins University Press

all books and journals made freely available, through 31 May 2020.


Jstor

Jstor resources during Covid-19

For participating academic institutions that currently license some, but not all, JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections, we will turn on access to all unlicensed collections at no cost.
We are working with publishers to make more than 20,000 books available at no charge for JSTOR-participating academic institutions and secondary schools that do not participate in our books program. The number of books available through this effort is growing daily as more publishers opt in.
 

Ohio State University Press

all books and journals made freely available, through 30 June 2020
 

Project Muse

Free resources on Muse during Covid-19

Content that is freely available on the Project MUSE platform during the COVID-19 crisis will display a distinctive "Free" icon, different from the "OA" icon used for fully open access content on MUSE, or the familiar green checkmark that users associate with content held by their library. MUSE search results, by default, include any content to which a user has access, so will offer the researcher any relevant free, OA, or entitled articles and books. There are over 2000 open access books and a small number of fully OA journals on the MUSE platform.  


Sage

Extending free access to eBooks/eTextbooks and courseware access for instructors

Resources to help you transition to teaching online

SAGE Video: https://sk.sagepub.com/video 
SAGE Research Methods Video: https://methods.sagepub.com/video 
SAGE Knowledge: https://sk.sagepub.com/ 


ScienceDirect Textbooks 

The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be automatically entitled to all active ScienceDirect customers (including those journals customers who do not currently have books) for a period of 90 days. Users accessing ScienceDirect through IP or remote access will be able to use these books while campuses are closed.  Access the title list here (expected to be updated by end of day Wednesday, March 18), https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/sciencedirect/content/book-title-lists
 

Social Science Space

16 Answers To Your Questions About Teaching Online

The Social And Behavioral Response To Coronavirus​


Svensk Mediedatabas

Radio and tv resources will be available for research and education during the Covid-19 crisis.

The service Svensk mediedatabas (SMDB) is available on distance at universities and research institutes due to a temporary agrement between the Royal Library (KB) and the copyright organisation Copyswede.

The agreement is valid until August 30th 2020.. SMDB is only available for researcher with formal affiliation with a academic univerisity or research institute. Ordering of material is done as normal through the service. The temporary agreement will also make it possible for researchers to give access to students for relevant materials needed in the education.​


Temple University Press 

all books freely available, through 30 June 2020


University of Georgia Press

all books made freely available, through 30 June 2020


University of Nebraska Press

all books and journals made freely available, through 31 May 2020


University of North Carolina Press

all books made freely available, through 30 June 2020


University Press of Colorado

all books made freely available, through 30 June 2020


Utah State University Press

all books freely available, through 30 June 2020


University of Michigan Press eBooks

University of Michigan Press will make all content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) free-to-read for the remainder of the academic term, from Friday, March 20 until the end of April 2020.
 

Vanderbilt University Press

selected books freely available, through 31 May 2020
 

VitalSource

https://press.vitalsource.com/vitalsource-helps

VitalSource® has joined leading publishers to help ensure students affected by the COVID-19 pandemic will have free access to quality digital learning materials through the remainder of the Spring 2020 semester. Beginning March 16 through May 25, 2020, access to an expansive catalog of eTexts will be available for free to students at semester-calendar institutions who have been impacted by recent campus closures. Students simply log in to the VitalSource Bookshelf app using their school email address and can then view course materials from participating publishers via VitalSource’s Explore capabilities within Bookshelf. Click here for a full list of publishers, but include APA, Cengage Learning, MacMillian Learning, Pearson Education, Wiley, and many more.

Students who need assistance accessing free eTexts can visit:
https://support.vitalsource.com/hc/en-us/categories/360003328673


 

Wolters Kluwer

Acland Anatomy: more info in the user guide

Health Library: more info: HL QRC   and HL User Central 
Health Library includes: 

  • Advanced Practice Nursing 
  • Board Review Series Collection
  • Clerkship Collection
  • Health Library: Exercise Science
  • Internal Medicine
  • Made Incredibly Easy Collection
  • Occupational Therapy Collection
  • PA Rotations/Specialties Collection
  • PA-Core Education Collection
  • Physical Therapy Collection
  • Premium Basic Sciences Collection
  • Premium Pharmacy Collection