More and more e-books are freely available (Open Access). It is titles where the author has chosen to publish the e-book open access or older titles which are no longer protected by copyright. Many can be found in Google or Google scholar but below are some tips on good collections
* these collections are indexed in LibSearch and will be part of the search result.
- DOAB - Directory of Open Access Books*
DOAB is a discovery services that points to OA books that can be found elsewhere. All books listed in DOAB have a full OA licence, making them 'free to share'.
- Bookboon
Educational material for students and business professionals. Over 900 textbooks for students and 600 e-books for business professionals in 7 languages.
- Feedbooks
Free Public Domain Books
- InTech Books
Multidisciplinary open access publisher of books covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine.
- Internet Archive
The Internet Archive provides free access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, software applications, music, movies, and books.
- Kriterium
Kriterium is a portal for the review and publication of high-quality academic books. Kriterium is a new quality mark for Swedish academic books. To obtain the Kriterium stamp of approval, all publications will undergo a stringent peer review according to set guidelines. All books with the Kriterium mark will be freely available online on open access.
- Library of Congress free e-books
Note! Not all the titles in this very large collection can be downloaded.
- Litteraturbanken*
The Swedish Literature Bank is the website for reliable digital versions of Swedish classics
- NCBI Bookshelf
Free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
- OAPEN Library*
Freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences
- Open Textbook Library*
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.
- Online Books Page
The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all. The Online Books Page was founded, and is edited, by John Mark Ockerbloom and the site is hosted by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries.
- PhilSci Archive - an archive for preprints in philosophy in Science
An electronic archive specifically tailored to and run by philosophers of science. The archive is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community. Its goal is to promote communication in the field by the rapid dissemination of new work
- Project Gutenberg
The first producer of free e-books. Litterature published before 1923. Contains more than 19 000 titles mainly in English. Also includes several audiobooks. To find the audiobooks go to Advanced Search and then choose Audiobook among the categoires. Managed by the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation.
- Research Catalogue - An international database for artistic research
An international database for artistic research, which function as a connective and transitional layer between academic discourse and
artistic practice, thereby constituting a discursive field for artistic research. You can also reach JAR, Journal for artistic research
- SSOAR - Social Science Open Access Repository
A collection of freely available, full-text social science documents.
- Svenska klassiker (Swedish classics)
Swedish fiction published by Svenska Akademien. Managed by Svenska Akademien in cooperation with the publisher Atlantis.
- UNESCO
Open Educational Resources: Teaching, learning, research materials
- Victorian Women Writers
primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare.